NACTOY Names Eligible Vehicles for Awards

By Staff Writer June 10, 2022
The Ford Bronco won 2022's North American Utility Vehicle of the Year.  The Ford Bronco won 2022's North American Utility Vehicle of the Year.

The North American Car, Truck and Utility Vehicle of the Year Awards said it expects a total of 47 cars, trucks and utility vehicles to be eligible for the 2023 awards – tying with 2019 for the most eligible vehicles in the history of the awards.

As of June 9, automakers have confirmed plans to launch 13 all-new or substantially new cars, three trucks and 31 utility vehicles this year in North America that meet NACTOY'S eligibility requirements.

"This high number of eligible vehicles highlights the wide range of choices consumers have among new vehicles this year," said NACTOY President Gary Witzenburg, "driven primarily by increased offerings of battery electric vehicles, continued popularity of the utility category and arrivals of new OEMs. We look forward to testing and evaluating this diverse list of exciting vehicles to determine this year's three NACTOY Award winners."

NACTOY President Gary Witzenburg.

Awarded by a panel of 50 highly experienced and respected jurors from print, online, radio and broadcast media across the U.S. and Canada – rather than a single publication or media outlet – the NACTOY awards are among the most prestigious in the industry.

To be eligible, vehicles must be all or substantially new and available for purchase before the end of the calendar year. Determining this eligibility list is the first step in the annual award process. Jurors will narrow the list with a preliminary vote in September, then will conduct additional driving evaluations through the rest of the year, including during an October comparison drive. Semifinalists in each category will be announced in September, finalists in November and category winners in January.

"Once again the SUV category has the most eligible vehicles, but this list of confirmed vehicles demonstrates that automakers continue to believe in the future of the car category," said NACTOY Secretary Nicole Wakelin. "While we only have three trucks eligible this year, these contenders come after an unusually competitive year in 2021 when eight trucks were eligible."

Car of the Year

Acura Integra
BMW i4 eDrive 40i
BMW i4 M50i
Genesis G80
Genesis G90
Maserati MC20
Mercedes C Class
Mercedes EQE
Nissan Z
Porsche Cayman GT4 RS
Porsche 911 GTS
Subaru WRX
Toyota GR Corolla

Truck of the Year

Chevrolet Silverado ZR2
Ford F-150 Lightning
Lordstown Endurance

Utility Vehicle of the Year

Audi Q4 e-tron
BMW iX xDrive M50i
Cadillac Lyriq
Fisker Ocean
Genesis GV60
Honda CR-V
Honda HR-V
Honda Pilot
Kia Sportage
Kia Niro
Kia EV6
Jeep Wagoneer LWB
Jeep Grand Wagoneer LWB
Land Rover Range Rover
Land Rover Range Rover SV
Land Rover Range Rover Sport
Land Rover Defender 130
Lexus LX600
Lexus RX
Mazda CX-50
Nissan Ariya
Porsche Cayenne Turbo GT
Rivian R1S
Subaru Solterra
Toyota Sequoia
Toyota bZ4X
Toyota Corolla Cross
Vinfast VF 8
Vinfast VF 9
Volvo C40 Recharge
Additional Utility vehicle TBA

Rate this item
(1 Vote)
Last modified on Thursday, 16 June 2022 16:04