Latest Online Edition  Read Here

State Shuts Down Repair Shops

State Shuts Down Repair Shops Featured

The Michigan Secretary of State has issued cease and desist orders to five unregistered auto repair shops in Shiawassee, Kent, Bay and Calhoun counties.

Justice Recovery & Repair in Durand is alleged to have performed repair work without registration or mechanic certification. The shop was visited by Secretary of State investigators following a consumer complaint that repairs had been paid for, but never completed.

Conrad Towing, also in Durand, is alleged to have performed repairs without facility registration or mechanic certification. Investigators sought the cease and desist order to protect consumers from a repair facility that was not following the law.
 
4 Bros Body Shop in Grand Rapids is alleged to have performed repairs without facility registration or mechanic certification at two different locations. A department investigator had found the owners performing repairs at an unregistered facility in Lowell.

They were advised to cease operations and submit a repair facility application.

A few weeks later, the investigator found the Lowell facility vacant. Later that day, the investigator discovered the owners were performing repairs without proper registration or certification at a new unregistered location in Grand Rapids.

Repair Shop in Auburn is alleged to have continued to perform repairs for more than a year after the expiration of its registration on June 3, 2015. Investigators sought the cease and desist order to protect consumers from a repair facility that was not following the law.

 S & S Automotive in Homer is alleged to have been performing repairs without facility registration or mechanic certification. Investigators sought the cease and desist order to prevent any harm to consumers by a repair facility that was not following the law.

The cease and desist order prohibits each facility from performing any further automotive repairs until they comply with Michigan law. State law provides that any person who knowingly provides automotive repair services without a registration or certificate is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 90 days in jail or a fine of up to $1,000, or both.

Last modified on Wednesday, 07 September 2016 16:46
Rate this item
(0 votes)