Mazda Recalls SUVs for Air Bags

By Staff Writer November 01, 2018

Mazda North American Operations is recalling certain 2011 Mazda RX-8 vehicles sold, or ever registered, in the states of Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia and the District of Columbia.
Mazda is also recalling certain 2010-11 RX-8 vehicles registered in the states of Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

The total recall affects 394 vehicles.
These vehicles are equipped with certain air bag inflators assembled as part of the passenger frontal air bag modules used as original equipment or replacement equipment. In the event of a crash necessitating deployment of the passenger frontal air bag, these inflators may explode due to propellant degradation occurring after long-term exposure to absolute humidity and temperature cycling.

Mazda will notify owners, and dealers will replace the front passenger air bag inflator with an alternate one, free of charge. The recall is expected to begin Nov. 12.

Mazda's number for this recall is 2918J.

Last modified on Thursday, 01 November 2018 13:20

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.