Group Honors Pioneers, Gives Scholarships Featured

By Staff Writer October 08, 2019

The Michigan Independent Automobile Dealers Association honored two of its founding members and presented two $1,000 scholarships during its annual awards dinner in St. Clair Shores, Mich. Otto Hahne, who won National Quality Dealer of the Year in June, emceed the event. The group celebrated Maurice VanCoillie of Van’s Used Cars, also based in St. Clair Shores. VanCoillie, 94, was honored with a recognition trophy from the Michigan IADA and the National Independent Automobile Dealers Association for his 72 years in the business. In addition, he received an award from the local historical commission for his history in the community.

Hahne also recognized Sam Lafata, a longtime auction owner and Manheim manager, who died earlier this year. He worked with VanCoillie to establish the Michigan IADA.

The association presented scholarships to two students, daughters of association members. Samantha Toia from Grimaldi Auto Sales in Warren, Mich., received $1,000 from the Ray Ketelhut Scholarship and Marissa Koetsier from K2 Autos, in Holland, Mich., received $1,000 from the Daryl DeVries Scholarship.

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Last modified on Tuesday, 08 October 2019 01:23

Trending News